Carb question!

TBM

Club Member
Got my 1984 FLHT home, and now starting on the big fix up and the first of MANY questions no doubt!

It appears to have a Mikuni HSR 42 Carb. However the throttle pump isn't working, the plastic throttle pump lever is broken (i think?) and it has no choke cable fitted.

I am completely new to Harleys - Is it worth getting it all fixed (carb rebuild kit, new choke cable, new throttle lever) or is there an alternative/better option? I am on a bit of a budget.

Secondly - the air filter bracketry is a bit shonky. Is there an alternative filter/bracket I could use if I keep the MSR?

Thank you - Phil

IMG_20240410_085203.jpg

40mm Mikuni is a good carb, I ran one on a FXR and it was very good. Personally i would get the spares and rebuild. I would hope they do a full rebuild kit that includes the part your missing

I think I'll go for a rebuild. Just need to ascertain if it's the HS40 or HSR42 - any one help? Looking at numerous photos, the set up on the top right of the carb (when looking at it) is more like the HS40. Any markings on the carb I can look for?

It’s a 42mm hsr The Phillips head screw controls the pump start point there is a threaded flat head screw to set the stopping point on the top of the carb just visible in pic it looks like a gorilla has wound the pump screw in back it out and the pressure arm should come down onto the rod leave about 1mm clearance between rod and plastic you can see the telltale where the top of the pump rod has been touching the plastic the brass screw on left is mixture set to 1-3/4 turns out from lightly seated it will give you a baseline setting to the left of the mixture screw is the idle/tick over adjuster on its wobbly line use it once started to get an even idle Allen’s performance do an overhaul kit for them i have got an exploded parts diagram i will try and upload it for you

Reactions: TBM